Wish (CD)


Super Magic Hats’ second album, on CD

8 in stock

Categories: ,


Following on from his debut, “Separation” (Hush Hush Records, 2016), Super Magic Hats has been ensconced in his studio in Melbourne’s inner north for 15 months writing and recording a collection of tracks that further explore the boundaries of his colourful musical world.  Whilst Separation presented subjects of displacement and melancholy under bright layers of sound, Wish approaches the world in a more positive and direct manner.  Themes of emotional uncertainty and displacement remain but are presented in a sympathetic manner, underpinned with a determination to overcome.  Beats are stripped back in order to let chord washes and melodies come to the fore, and playful samples nestle with analogue synth lines.

In a departure from Separation, much of Wish was recorded in live takes from a modular synth that Super Magic Hats has spent the past 18 months accumulating parts for, and which has become a central part of his creative process.  Wish also features contributions from previous vocal and lyrical collaborator Mayumi (Chelsea Terrace/Grey Nightly) as well as Melbourne friends Rosaline Yuen (vocals/lyrics) and Chris Oldfield (guitar/keys), and stunning cover art by Japanese artist Izumi Fontana.

All Tracks Produced, Composed, Performed, Arranged and Mixed by Super Magic Hats, 2015-2017, Melbourne, Australia

01, 04 and 13 Vocals by IA
02 Vocals by Iroha & IA
05 Vocals and Lyrics by Mayumi (Chelsea Terrace, Gray Nightly)
06, 07, 08 and 11 Vocals by Hatsune Miku
09 Vocals and Lyrics by Rosaline Yuen
10 Guitar and Piano by Chris Oldfield
11 Rhodes by Chris Oldfield
13 Additional Production by Chris Oldfield

Mastered by Adam Straney (Breakpoint Mastering)
Artwork by Izumi Fontana